Bibliography–Acknowledgments

Bibliography

“About the Forest.” USDA. http://www.fs.usda.gov/main/greenmountain/about-forest. 18 June 2015. Web.

“About the MBL.” Marine Biological Laboratory. http://www.mbl.edu/mbl-facts/. 29. May 2015. Web.

Bartram’s garden https://bartramsgarden.org/history/the-bartrams/Bios Urn. https://urnabios.com/

“The Bay Ecosystem.” Chesapeake Bay Program. http://www.chesapeakebay.net/discover/bayecosystem. 12 June 2015. Web.

“Blue Crabs.” Chesapeake Bay Program. http://www.chesapeakebay.net/issues/issue/blue_crabs#inline. 15 June 2015. Web.

Byers, Michelle. “Pine Barrens remains an untouched region.” News Transcript. http://newstranscript.gmnews.com/news/2013-03-27/Columns/Pine_Barrens_remains_an_untouched_region.html. 30 June 2015. Web.

Cape Cod. www.capecodweb.com/capeinfo/towns.htm

“The Central Artery/ Tunnel Project- The Big Dig.” MassDot. http://www.massdot.state.ma.us/highway/TheBigDig.aspx. 28 June 2015. Web.

Cronon, William. “The Trouble with Wilderness; or, Getting Back to the Wrong Nature.” Uncommon Ground: Rethinking the Human Place in Nature, ed.William Cronon. New York: W. W. Norton & Co., 1995, 69-90.

“Delaware’s Artificial Reef Program.” State of Delaware. http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/fw/Fisheries/Pages/ArtificialReefProgram.aspx. 30 June 2015. Web.

Discovery News. “Ten Crazy Things to Do When You’re Dead.” Feb. 28, 2013. http://news.discovery.com/human/life/crazy-things-to-do-when-youre-dead-130228-pictures.htm. May 29, 2015. Web.

EterniTrees. Oct 23 2011. http://www.eternitrees.com/. May 28, 2015. Web.

“Execuative Summary.” USDA. http://www.fs.usda.gov/Internet/FSE_DOCUMENTS/fsbdev3_064826.pdf. 18 June 2015. Web.

“Finishing the Big Dig” Boston. http://www.boston.com/news/traffic/bigdig/special/galleries/artery/05.htm. 25 June 2015.

“Frederick Law Olmsted.” Emerald Necklace Conservancy. http://www.emeraldnecklace.org/park-overview/frederick-law-olmsted/ 25 June 2015. Web.

“Frequently Asked Questions.” National Park Service. http://www.nps.gov/pine/faqs.htm. 4 June 2015. Web.

“The Garden State.” The State of New Jersey. http://www.state.nj.us/nj/about/garden/. 4 June 2015. Web.

“Greenway History.” The Green Way. http://www.rosekennedygreenway.org/about-us/greenway-history/. 30 June 2015.

“Guide’s Guide.” National Park Service. http://www.nps.gov/caco/planyourvisit/upload/FinalGGPlands.pdf. 2 June 2015. Web.

Hetrick, Christian. “Stockton Forest Thinned for Study.” The Press of Atlantic City. 04 July 2015. Print.

“History and Culture.” USDA. http://www.fs.usda.gov/main/greenmountain/learning/history-culture. 18 June 2015. Web.

“History and Legacy.” Woods Hole Oceongraphic Institutioni. http://www.whoi.edu/main/history-legacy. 31 May 2015. Web

“History of the Adirondack Park.” New York State Adirondack Park Agency. 2015. http://apa.ny.gov/about_park/history.htm. 23 June 2015. Web.

“How many tourists visit Cape Cod each year?” Cape Links. http://www.capelinks.com/cape-cod/main/entry/how-many-tourists-visit-cape-cod-each-year/. 2 July 2015. Web.

Leggett, Doreen. “Cape at pollution ‘tipping point’ says EPA.” Wicked Local. http://capecod.wickedlocal.com/article/20150302/NEWS/150309841. 7 July 2015. Web

“Life at the Bottom.” Chesapeake Bay Program. http://www.chesapeakebay.net/discover/bayecosystem/bottom. 12 June 2015. Web.

McKibben, Bill. The End of Nature. Print.

McPhee, John. The Pine Barrens. Print.

Morris Arboretum. http://www.business-services.upenn.edu/arboretum/index.shtml

“Nature.” National Park Service. http://www.nps.gov/caco/learn/nature/index.htm. 2 June 2015. Web.

Nelson, Pete. “Do the Adirondacks Have Enough Wilderness.” Adirondack Almanack: Adirondack Explorer’s Online News Journal. May 25, 2013.

Nichols, Ashton. Beyond Romantic Ecocriticism: Toward Urbanatural Roosting. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2011.

“Oysters.” Chesapeake Bay Program. http://www.chesapeakebay.net/issues/issue/oysters. 15 June 2015. Web.

Philadelphia Government. http://www.phila.gov/green/greenworks/2009-greenworks-report.html

“Pine barrens gentian.” United States Botanic Garden. http://www.usbg.gov/plants/pine-barrens-gentian. 6 June 2015. Web.

“Pinelands Agriculture.” Pinelands Preservation Alliance. http://www.pinelandsalliance.org/history/agriculture/. 4 June 2015. Web.

“Pinelands Wildlife.” Pinelands Preservation Alliance. http://www.pinelandsalliance.org/ecology/wildlife/. 9 June 2015. Web.

“Rising Seas Threaten Cape Cod’s Groundwater.” Eco RI News. http://eco-ri.squarespace.com/massachusetts-climate/2014/2/23/rising-seas-threaten-cape-cods-groundwater.html. 7 July 2015. Web.

“Striped Bass.” Chesapeake Bay Program. http://www.chesapeakebay.net/issues/issue/striped_bass. 15 June 2015. Web.

“Welcome to the Emerald Necklace.” Emerald Necklace Conservancy. http://www.emeraldnecklace.org/park-overview/. 25 June 2015. Web.

Woods Hole http://www.woodshole.com/about.html

Zareva, Teodora. “This Awesome Urn Will Turn You into a Tree After You Die.” Big Think. http://bigthink.com/design-for-good/this-awesome-urn-will-turn-you-into-a-tree-after-you-die. May 29, 2015.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Acknowledgments

Thanks first to Kerin Maguire, member of the Dickinson Class of 2017, and my diligent Mellon Foundation (via a Dickinson Digital Humanities Grant) research assistant during the summer of 2015. Kerin was essential in the establishment of the initial architecture, design, research, and writing of the Urbanatural Roosting web portal. See also Kerin’s music blog: http://kerscorner.com/ — a valuable website for anyone interested in contemporary music and a wide range of bands, styles, and sounds. Enjoy! See also:

https://www.dickinson.edu/news/article/1669/urbanatural_living_digital-style

Special thanks also to Brenda Landis, Multimedia Specialist in Dickinson’s Academic Technology office, and her staff–especially Ryan Burke and Andy Petrus–for continuing help with our IT, design, and software issues during the initial establishment of the site and its theme in WordPress during 2015.

I am also grateful to students in a number of my classes: Thoreau and American Nature Writing (ENST 111 and ENGL 101), Writing About the Natural World (ENGL 212), The Natural History Mosaic (ENGL 212 & Independent Studies), and Ecocriticism (ENGL 360) from 2011-2015. Their engagement and curiosity has been an important part of the thinking that has led me forward into a much wider appreciation and understanding of my own original idea: urbanatural roosting. See: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ashton_Nichols
                                                                                            –Ashton Nichols

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *